BUBBA

Bubba

It is something, we call our boys and men

for most people it means brother.

For many years a man lived with

my second husband and I,

Who was my Bubba.

He was always there,

when I needed someone

to talk to or help with anything.

I feel blessed to

have had him in my life.

He was smart and intelligent.

Sounds like they are the same thing.

He was street smart and a book worm like me.

He fell into drugs.

I lost my friend.

I miss him something awful.

I was my mother’s only child.

I have brother’s and sisters.

I only know one of them. We talk over the phone.

He lives 416 miles away from.

He is six months older than me.

So my Bubba was the only one,

I had around close during my 20’s to 40’s.

He got hooked on quizzes. He would spend hours,

asking me the answers to the ones, he didn’t know.

Even to a funny point in time,

when he knocked on our bedroom door

at the wrong moment

inquiring the answer to one of the quizzes.

He like the children,

would wake me up to ask,

if I minded if he did stuff.

No one would ask my husband,

he would just tell them to ask me.

He will be forever my Bubba.

Leave a comment